Came upon an article on Harvard business Review and though I started this blog post to reflect my thoughts.

It’s not the first time that I started to reflect on this same question again since the day I graduate. It’s been a few years and yet I’m still searching for an answer. At times, I thought I have found the answer and started to work towards it, till one day I start to reflect again and doubted myself again. It is always when I suddenly stopped to think of what I have done so far and asking myself “Why am I doing these?” that makes me goes back to the same old question. It’s a dilemma and I’m unsure of what lies ahead.

A few questions that I asked myself that always help me out. Need to make a note of it so I can always reflect on it whenever I’m lost again.

1.    Ask yourself what you want and like in life.

I am a traditional and practical person where I would happiness in providing a good life to my love ones. I also like sea sports and infuse with nature. I don’t need to be very rich to do all that. I believe in work life balance to financially support my family and at the same time physically there with them. Also not forgetting to give myself some time to enjoy my hobbies. Happiness and Money will always come hand in hand. You lost some you gain some. Ones need to know the art of balancing them.

2.    Choosing between Doing what you love, What you are Good At and Making Money.

I categories these statement into 3 parts:

I.  Doing What you Love
II.  Doing What you are Good At
III.  Making Money

These will be ideal and the ultimate goal for anyone. However, in reality how many can do it? It will definitely involve some sort of sacrifices somewhere in their life.

Currently, I guess I’m at (II & III) maybe with a bit (I) in the short term. Not sure will it eventually evolve into something I love or will burnt off eventually. Kind of doubting myself at times especially so when I started to question myself time to time.

With what I have progress till date, I guess I am targeting to move into (I & III) not sure if I will be getting (II) as I might be new to that area. However, I’m willing to give it a shot. You never know. Thinking back, I don’t think I could have imagined being in where am I now 2 years ago.

3.    Making the right decision.

End of the day, I believe that by doing what you love, you will eventually be good at it and money will eventually comes. Easy then said to be done and in reality one might not go through the same process to achieve the 3 points.

Personally, I glad and lucky to start building the financial foundation through point II & III. Now that I’m comfortable at where am I now, I decided to make use of the time and space to propel myself towards point I which I believe with time, point II & III will eventually come into place. With that, I can then be more assured that I can achieve what I want in life. Though, in reality I might also be able to achieve that in what I’m doing now, but I don’t think I can be physically or mentally there to enjoy it. I might happen to end up with just point I & III.

At this point in time, I believe the opportunity cost is not high and the risk of making this decision is low. Any case if it fails, I can always fall back to where I started. I think it’s worth a try. I will have to do it and make baby steps.

